Sign in to follow this  

4 stroke to a 2 stroke

What difference would there be going from a 4 stroke to a 2 stroke? can you just jump on and ride or is it harder than that. I know that its not going to be the same i just want to know how different it will be. Is there anything that i should know before trying to ride a 2 stroke or is it pretty straight forward. I just don't want to make a fool of my self trying to ride one for the first time.

Thanks

Just get on and ride. You will feel immediately how the power/engine of a 2 st is different than a 4 st. as you ride it, but you will get how to use the 2 st engine.

Can I come and watch?

Edited by bigbore2
  • Like 3

Depends on the TYPE of 2-stroke it is. MX engines have a lot more hit than woods-ported ones. It also depends on how skilled a rider is. A total newb who just got the feel for a 4-stroke could have some trouble with the change. A guy who is totally comfortable with a 4-stroke shouldn't have any trouble at all. I don't have much seat time with woods motors but with an MX 2-stroke I'll typically keep revs toward the bottom end of the power band. That gives instant power bit keeps the wheel planted. High revs on an MX 2-stroke will usually break the tire loose.

Have fun kicking the 4 toke over. If you're an electric start then you're gold. You will like the torque on the 4 and like pretty much everything else on the 2. I went the opposite from 2 to 4 and I wasn't stoked at first. Now I love the thumper. But I miss the 2 stk zing. 

Edited by KDY