Sign in to follow this  

Should I get an Xr400

I'm 14 about 5,10 and 150 pounds and I have been riding for about 3 years. I just recently sold my crf150f and it was just too small, I'm looking for a much bigger bike. My dad has been riding all his life and he thinks that an Xr400 is going to be too heavy for me in the woods. I've wrestled and I weight lift everyday so I'm pretty strong and I think I can handle the weight of this bike what do you all thing? Should I get one or not? Also, I would like to know what other great woods bikes there are just so I can look at my other choices?

I would say the lightest options are,

There's the KTM 150 & 200

There's the kdx200 & 220

_-----------------------

Then I say wr250r

Crf 230-250l

Xr250

Drz250

As far as being too heavy for the woods???

They are heavy bikes.

Edited by ridngslikecrack

The XR400 would be heavy when it came time to pick it up after falling downhill, or recovering it after you've gotten it stuck in the mud.  Aside from that, I doubt you would mind the weight much.  Are you looking to stay with 4-strokes or are you open to 2-strokes?

I see you're in KY. If you are riding in the rocky woods of KY, you'll have more fun on a lighter, easier to handle bike. Just about any modern 2 stroke, or a 250 4 stroke would be better in my opinion. We do a lot of riding in KY, and that has been my experience.

The XR400 would be heavy when it came time to pick it up after falling downhill, or recovering it after you've gotten it stuck in the mud. Aside from that, I doubt you would mind the weight much. Are you looking to stay with 4-strokes or are you open to 2-strokes?

I am looking toward both a 4 and a 2 stroke. I also want to start hare scrambles do you know of any bikes that would be best for that? My dad said he wants me to go look at a kdx200,kx or a yz 125 and a ttr or a crf230 and an xr250 what out of those bikes are the best for the woods Edited by Hartlage1