23 year old male, beginner first bike?

Hi Guys,

I have read through many threads and I am getting a general idea of what I want but I am still undecided.  A few facts about me:

I am a 23 year old male from N.Ireland, 5ft 10, 180lbs reasonable fitness, I have previous experience on quads and a bit on road bikes, nothing official but i know how to ride, use a clutch etc.... mind you not great, I pick these things up pretty easily though, I have decent hand skils I am a pilot by profession.

I am looking for my first dirtbike, and because of living in N.Ireland I cant just go trail blazing because its all owned by someone so I will be restricted to my own private land which is just a few farm fields nothing exciting and a local mx track. Now i do intend to get the permission from agencies to use their land so I am looking for a bike that will do a bit of trail but still be strong on a mx track.  Its mainly for fun but I tend to get into these sorts of things so it might get more serious down the line.

Money wise I have about £2000 to spend although there isn't a huge amount of selection in this country.  Also from a maintenance point of view id like to do it myself which makes me think 2 stroke but I hear good things about 4 stroke also. Two completely different engines i know but which one would suit me best?

One final thing, I don't really have the money to upgrade in a year or two so something with a bit more power than i need right now as a beginner is probably a good idea I will just take it easy at the beginning..

Any help would be greatly appreciated.  

B

Edited by fifty_seven