Sign in to follow this  

Wheelies with stock sprocket(s)?

I'm new to this - and still getting warmed up to the bike.  At the same time, I'm starting to get comfortable enough... and have gotten so I can pop the front wheel off the ground with ease in first gear.  While I haven't spent much time trying it in second gear, what little I have played in second gear has me feeling that it may not even be doable to get the bike to lift to wheelie height in second gear, and even less so in third.  Is this about right?  Or is it a matter of more rpm's and a harder/faster release of the clutch?

Thoughts?

You'll want to regear to 13/42. Your clutch will thank you.

Wheelies are not about power. You can ride endless wheelies on a bicycle and they have no power at all. It's about balance. Plan to flip and crash a few times if you really want to learn to ride one. I try to keep the front wheel on the ground unless I have to lift it over something like a tree or rock and 1-2 feet is as high as I need the front wheel. A wheelie is 10% bike 90% rider.

I cant pop my front up with the 13/40 :thumbsdn:

Coast about 12-15 miles an hour. Have it in 2nd gear, pull in the clutch, rev it up, dump the clutch with rpms up. It will do a wheelie. I have 13-40.

Coast about 12-15 miles an hour. Have it in 2nd gear, pull in the clutch, rev it up, dump the clutch with rpms up. It will do a wheelie. I have 13-40.

Every time I dump the clutch my rear just spins.

Sorry, I was talking about on pavement. You were talking about dirt?