Sign in to follow this  

How's this piston look?

today was my first time pulling apart an engine! Took the cylinder off and it looks good. Was ported by a previous owner apparently.

Anyways, is this a terrible looking piston? I've never looked at one before.

Pic:

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1392515877.052316.jpg

I'm no expert,I've only done my own engine for the 1st time couple weeks ago,but I just saw this pic....so I thought I'd post it for you.

Your piston looks pretty close to the center pic that is perfect-as far as running rich or lean anyways. Hows the cylinder look? Any play in the rod?up&down movement?

Good luck on your rebuild! It sure feels good to successfully complete it!

1392525448766.jpg

Cool pic! Nice to know that my jetting is visibly good. Thank you much! I'm really looking forward to having the bike back in commission for this spring/summer.

The cylinder looks pretty good as far as I can tell. Lots of cross-hatching left, a little bit of polishing going on, though. But no scoring or deep scratches! I'm gonna take the cylinder to a local shop sometime during the week and get their opinion on it since I really don't know what I'm looking at.

The crank appears to be in good shape. I'm not positive about it, though haha. There's a good amount of sideways play in the rod, but I couldn't feel any up and down play. (Is that good?) I'm tearing the bottom end apart tomorrow after church to replace a cracked trans case and will replace the crank bearings while I'm in there. So I'll be getting a good look at the crank while it's apart.