Sign in to follow this  

2011 DRZ400S leaking fuel badly!

Good evening gents,

About a year ago I added a Clark oversized tank on my totally stock 400S. All was well for about a thousand miles, and on a long trip across Western Washington state, things decided to go haywire with the fuel system.

My fiance and I checked into a hotel, and woke up the next morning to a huge puddle of fuel under the bike! I was leaking out of the air box, had filled up the cylinder which hydro locked when I tried to turn it over.... I'm an equipment mechanic by trade, so I'm very mechanically inclined. I got all the fuel out of the cylinder, took the petcock apart and inspected it. The diaphragm looked good, the float didn't appear stuck, the needle valve is pristine and actuates like it should. I got her back together and we rode 300+ miles back home. It would flood if I left it sitting (not running), so every time we stopped I'd put some needle nose vicegrips on the fuel line.

So I let it sit in my garage for a month or so (bad weather) I decided to take the vice grips off and see what happens.. Sure enough, it did the same thing.

I have the petcock off and apart, and the carb turned sideways with the bowl off for another look. Everything seems to be absolutely perfect. I have no clue what the problem is.

My questions to my fellow Zuk people is: With the fuel line off the carb, if I keep the petcock in the ON position should I get fuel running? I wouldn't think so since it's vacuum operated. Am I wrong? It flows fairly freely. Possibly a bad diaphragm?

Thanks in advance for any advice/help! Love this place!

Regards,

Chris 

Thanks, that's what I figured. Looks like a new diaphragm is in order. 

If my float is working properly, shouldn't it not allow fuel to pass through? Or is the gravity of a few gallons enough to over power the needle? 

Much appreciated!

regards,

Chris

Thanks, that's what I figured. Looks like a new diaphragm is in order.