Look what followed me home!

After a month of scanning craigslist I finally got my first bike,its a 2003 Ktm 250 sx. The bike has 40 hours on it,The old guy I bought it from bought it new for trail riding and had a stroke so he no longer rides. i did my home work and went over everything and shes near new. starts first kick from cold no seals leaking and motor sounds good to me. alot more power then i expected from a dirt bike.

i only have a few concerns,im new to 2 strokes so what are bad noises to listen for? i just dont know what im looking for.

The other thing is that the clutch seems to drag, its hard to start in gear and lurches a bit. it also stalls when in gear sitting, if i put it in nutral it will idle fine but not in gear. i also feel drag when clutch is in and im pushing the bike in gear.

stabal was used in the tanks and it has been in his storage unit for 4 years. i drained everything in the tank befor running and used fresh gas but i bet the carbs need a clean.  normally the clutch would be a no brainer but this bike has a hydrolic clutch.

Thanks guys and Im glad to be part of the community.IMG_20140214_103250.jpg0140214_121742.jpgCYMERA_20140214_184407.jpg

I have had bikes that the clutch sticks in when you first start them. You may need to bleed the clutch lines of air is maybe an idea to try. As for the gas you can clean the carb but if it starts and runs fine I would just run fresh gas with some sea foam thru in. If it starts running worse you can always pull the carb and clean it. congrats on the new bike always fun to find a good clean bike. someone hasn't rode much

You have a very dangerous and some serious bike there.

Try adjusting the engaging pin of the clutch perch so it pushes more fliud thru the the hydraulic clutch.