Sign in to follow this  

A KTM even a Honda rider could love

I see the owner of the local KTM dealership at the mountain bike trails frequently ----

last time out , i was treated to the sight of his latest ride  -- check the light fade graphics on the head tube -- its a Katoom in orange livery  ---

The specs rival anything out there ---   

Full carbon frame

2x11 Shimano XTR componentry

carbon rims

27.5" wheels

dont know the specs on the Fox suspension components but i'm sure they're nice 

weight is about 21.5 pounds 

Oh, its sexy, and i just may add the first KTM ever to my stable 

The retail on this particular bike as it sits is $8900  -- which compares favorably to others in its class, and is cheaper than a Specialized

005_zpsef6f2218.jpg

I am riding an '06 Santa Cruz (pictured below) with older 3x9 XTR and aluminum everywhere 

weighs about 26

I have been riding it happily for 8 years now and have resisted the urge to upgrade, as its been a darn solid bike for my needs   -----  That KTM makes it look pretty pedestrian now though --- (like i need anything else to spend a paycheck (5 paychecks?) on  

scsl001_zps5e5cd022.jpg

Will the neck snap off when you ride it?!?

:smirk:

I tried to re-cap some of KRannie's reservations about KTM's to the man, about whether its a rear steer only bike, and how bad does it stinkbug? - as well as commenting that i was sure glad to see them get away from PDS on this one  ---   (its a 4 bar suspension system with a Horst link (yes, Horst Leitner) -- he compared it to Suzuki's Full floater system from the early 80's  -pretty cool

But aside from some friendly banter, i'm not going to badmouth KTM's too much to a guy who has made a very healthy living selling them for 30 years -- my Honda dealership looks at dirt bikes as an afterthought , and the YAmaha dealership who kept a ton of dirt stuff in stock and supported local racing didnt survive the recession a couple of years back