Sign in to follow this  

New rider 2nd bike!

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to the whole riding scene and thought this would be a good forum to join. I started riding about a month ago. I hadn't rode a dirtbike in 12+ years and the biggest I rode back then was an xr80, my buddy who has a crf450r got me back interested in riding and talked me into getting a 2003 yz450f which was ALOT of bike I rode it around and took it to the local track twice, I found a decent deal on a 2009 crf450r so I bought it and sold the yz450f. Took the Honda to the shop and had it freshened up. I got it back today and rode it, wow! This bike is awesome! I love it! I'm still new and learning my way around the track but slowly lol. Sorry for the long post! Anything I should know right off about this bike before I take it out to the track? Known problems? Thanks!

20140320_211201.jpg

I don't have an EFI bike but I have seen many threads talking about fuel pump issues due to a clogged fuel filter. Do a search and get the exact details. Or maybe this issue as already been addressed on your '09?

The single most important thing you should address first is the suspension. Get the suspension set up correctly for you and your riding type, style, ability, etc etc. Doing that first will be the best thing by far you can do to enhance your riding experience.

Make sure you have the correct tires for the terrain you will be riding.

And get a service manual. There are things that you will need to do, and should do yourself.

Lastly always use the search function at the top right. Most everything you will need or want to know has been covered already. If you can't find it, ask.

Have fun!! :thumbsup:

Edited by mrmoto35

Custom suspension maybe a little unnecessary for a beginner. Set the sag and ride as much as you can and have fun.