Sign in to follow this  

making the bike easier to ride for a tall rider

Hey guys,

Maybe I shouldnt have posted in a bike specific forum, but then again that's what I ride :)

Anyways, I'm 6'2" or so, and riding a 2013 450R.  When I stand, I definitely feel out of place...more so than I do on my other bike (2005 CRF450X). 

I feel like I'm so hunched over to hold onto the handlebars, and in any jump situations on the track this forces me farther back on the bike then I'd like to be. Even my pictures look funny! HA!

So I'm by no means a pro or anything, in fact only started racing last year. I'm sure my form is far from perfect, but wheres the first place I should look?

Bar risers? Is that a viable option? Or new handlebars? Combination of both?

I'm willing to do what it takes to be more comfortable on the bike, but I don't know if going through different combinations of risers and handlebars are cost efficient. 

Is there such thing as adjustable risers?

I read around here some guys have fitted lower pegs, but our tracks get pretty rutted up in the corners and I'd really hate to have a peg drop in there.

Opinions? If there are any experienced riders out there that can point me in the proper direction that would be great!

I'm 6'4" 

This is what I do to all my bikes:

CR or KX high bars on a BRP submount riser (plus a damper)

Bars set at +.5 position or less

Tall seat (sometimes even getting a custom seat made for even more height, like on my R I went 2" taller than stock)

Fastway pegs in the low boy position

Suspension as well tuned as you can get it. so when you stand up you are not doing any radical weight shifts forward that might cause the front to drop

I just put the brp's handle bar mount for the scotts dampener on my bike with the cr mids. The mount and bars brought it up about a inch maybe more, feels better. Cr highs would probably feel even better. I'm 6'1 and like my bars forward. About 1.5.

I'm 6'1" here is the setup I have on my bikes: