Sign in to follow this  

which bike for newish rider

Ive been riding street bikes for about 7 years now off and on now and recently got my 6 yr old a crf50 so he can learn himself. I didnt get to learn on dirt bikes like i wanted so i learned on the streets when i was in my early 20s. Id like something to ride with him and on my own when i get a chance. My buddy says get a crf100 but it seems like it would be too small...but what do i know...ya know. I just figured i would get a few more opinions.

Anyways im 5'10, about 220-230 depending on the day of the week...

The kids bike has training wheels so im not worried about jumping off and on the bike so much, just want something that will be fun and last a long time...im not growing anymore at 31...lol. also...my buddy says nothing beats a honda for reliability and cheap parts. However, im not stuck on honda...all suggestions are welcome.

What do yall think.

Crf 230, big bike but nothing you can't deal with. My 6 foot friend is learning on one and he's fine. It's almost like a beginner bike for people that aren't little haha.

I watched my friends son pretty much completely submerge his crf230 in a deep creek about five years ago. It still runs like a champ today. E start, doesn't run hot in the slow stuff, descent power. Great, low maintenance trail bike.

Edited by Hoosier-Daddy

i'll have to check one of those out. 

i like to ride around on the 50 and it would be cool to get another one and fix up but i also want something that i can take out on my own and have fun.

there is a local dirt track that i may have access to through my buddy..would i be able to ride around on that and have fun or would the jumps be too much for that bike??  im not going to not get a bike just cuz it cant do jumps because that's not my priority, but would still be fun to do it if i get the chance.