Sign in to follow this  

Hello Everyone my name is matt, I have a few questions to ask. I'm looking into getting a KDX200 and don't know what items to buy when I get it. 

First I'm looking at different tires. I want a tire good for hard packed dirt, mud and rocks like "shale" which we get a lot where I ride. I like the Michelin combo you can get, I think they're called the MH3? I'm not sure. But just a all around good tire.

Also, what premix should I use which is a good price and well made? I'm only looking into racing Hare Scrambles so I don't need the best stuff on the market. Just something that is high quality and affordable. On another note what engine oil brand should I use which is good? Same thing I want something high quality but affordable.

I am a bit new to everything and appreciate your help. I'm trying to learn the most I can before purchasing a new bike.

I would try and find some local riders and ask them what they are using for your area.

My favorite rear tire is the Dunlop MX51.  It is just a great all around tire with better life then others I have tried.  I use it down here in Georgia where the terrain changes so quickly.  It goes from normal dirt, to mud, then clay, then sand, then rocks, then roots, then dirt so hard it might as well be pavement, then some areas that are actually old pavement.  I've been very happy with it as a tire and will be buying it again for my next tire.

There are lots of opinions on premix.  I run what my local shop sells.  They used to carry Honda HP2 and I liked that a lot but they stopped selling it so I just run Yamalube racing.  I would see what all you can find locally and choose from those.  It is nice knowing you don't have to order it and if your in a hurry you know right where to get it.

For transmission oil I use 4 stroke motor oil 10-40.  I replace it about every 10 hours on my YZ250. 

• Like 1