Sign in to follow this  

I am desperate....clutch issue, i have no experience.

First off I would like to say thank you to everyone who has helped me in the past. You guys are awesome and I am so lucky a website like this exists. I tried looking threw the forums and finding an answer as I cant be the first person to have had this issue. I recently bought a kx 125 9 a 1999, the bike was restored from the frame off and it runs like a dream. Awesome compression, the carb is jetted perfectly, it shifts wonderfully, everything but one issue. Its gotta be a clutch issue but i cant put my finger on it. When I am in gear and i hold in the clutch, it doesnt go into nuetral except about half the time. Most times it stays in gear and when going slow  it stalls. When trying to go from neutral to start, half the time its fine, the other half it stalls. I know alot about bikes, but i have never ventured into the bottom end of any bike. I adjusted the clutch cable and its nice and tight and working as it should. Do i need new plates? a new basket? being that i have never had to rebuild any clutch, i have done carbs and top ends, should I take it to a shop? What could make the clutch work half the time and not the other half? This has me so stumped as its really getting in the way of enjoying my new bike. Any help you guys could offer would be great. I tried the search function but couldnt find anything specific to what I am experiencing. I can get new clutch plates off the bay for about 50 bucks. but if this is a hard thing to change I may just take it to the shop. problem is, I dont trust the shop. Their are only 2 shops near me, andboth will rake you over the coals. Please help, and thank you to anyone thart can offer some insight.