Sign in to follow this  

Is this spark good? Or is it weak?

Is this spark sufficient?  Everyone says 'fat and blue'.  I can't get my 1988 CR125 to start, and when it does it barely idles for 30 secs then sneezes and dies.  Carb is good.  Coils are expensive for this bike, so want to be sure.

To me it looks weak.  It's tough to tell without actually being there.  But given how dark it is in the shot, I would think it should look a lot more vibrant...

I think it looks good. now you're really confused.

Doesn't really sound like a ignition problem to me, but I'm not an expert.

Mike

Yes, new plug. Also coil checked out per spec in manual as far as resistance Can it still be bad? Ill get better longer video of spark.

The spark looks good to me, but I have seen others with a stronger bolt.  Have you tried using a different plug, say like an iridium type which is a bit pricey, but a good plug?  Give us more details on exactly what went down.  I mean, say like you woke up one day and the bike started doing this, or say you worked on it and then this happened. It really sounds to me like carb problems and not so much spark. But the coil might need replacing.  Just because you get spark while testing it as you turn the engine is a lot different than when the motor is revving at a certain RPM.  Your coil might be going out after it warms up or goes into a higher RPM.  And coils are really not expensive unless I'm missing something here.  You're looking at just under $30 on eBay for a coil new.  :devil:

Not a bad idea to make sure your fuel screw isn't turned in or out way too much.

Edited by DirtSmoker250