Sign in to follow this  

Need help with thrust load, thrust washers, and snap rings

New to this forum so I apologize if I'm posting this in the wrong place. I recently bought an 07 CRF450R from a TSgt. here at the base my wife and I are stationed to, which helped take a little fear out of buying a used bike from just anyone. The bike was pristine and very well maintained with all service records and log book of oil changes, valve checks, and such. On my second time of riding the bike, a buddy asked to hop on it. Long story short, he brought it back with a huge hole in the crankcase. I could tell by how high he had the RPM's, that something bad was going to happen. Anyway, I tore the engine down and found that the rod split clean in half and destroyed everything. The only thing that was salvageable was the transmission and the head on up (had to replace intake valves, springs, seals). Since I'm new to 450's, 4 strokes, and working on engines, the only logical thing for me to do was to order $2,000 worth of parts and give it a go :)