Sign in to follow this  

Fork Cartridge Question - See Photo

wrfork.jpg

I'm new to suspension work.. and just replaced my fork seals.. upon doing so I have a question concerning the spring upper seat.. I noticed play between the spring upper seat (the white plastic piece below the nut) and the upper nut (see arrow).

How should this nut be adjusted, should there be no gap between the top of the spring upper seat and the nut or should there be?  I noticed when I was putting the fork back together the spring upper seat would move up and down which seemed to be about a half inch or so.. but I have no clue how this should be adjusted!!

Any help would be appreciated!! This bike is a '09 WR250F

Thanks!

Basher

Im just guessing here, but my 01 kx125 had a very similar looking setup.. I did it like this..... back adjuster screw all way out, screw nut down a ways, hand thread the cap onto rod till it lightly bottoms out and tighten the nut up to meet it and lock it on... That is my humble opinion. Hopefully somebody can verify my opinion before you go back together with it. Good luck.

If you have a clicker adjuster in the center of the fork cap, before disassembling, you should turn it all the way in til it lightly seats, counting the number of turns as you go. That tells you where it was set before disassembly. Then turn it all the way out to count the total number of turns/travel, as thats how many you want to have when you put it back together. Leave it backed out for disassembly.

How far the fork cap is screwed onto the rod end determines how many clicker points you end up with.