Sign in to follow this  

2001 kx250 piston damage

Hi guys, i have a question, .image.jpg i have a kx250 2001 i bought last year ran fine up untill now, i took piston out to notice it had some unfamiliar marks, image.jpgimage.jpg barrel has no damage whatso ever, but half the top ring is imbedded in the ring groove.

So i bought a wiseco, changed all gaskets, orings, rings ect put all back together and was running fine, bike died on me other day so i took the exhaust off and looked through the port and it does seem like it has done the same thing, could any one give any info on what might be the problem, any input would be greatly appriciated many thanks.

power valves hitting the piston?

I thought the same, but she ran fine for a year before hand, and it didnt feel like it was hitting whilst riding... Thanks for reply

I have no experience with wiseco. But 99 percent of people in the kawi 2stroke forum say don't use wiseco pistons. They are garbage lol.  This has nothing to do with your problem, just random input on piston choice...

I have no experience with wiseco. But 99 percent of people in the kawi 2stroke forum say don't use wiseco pistons. They are garbage lol.  This has nothing to do with your problem, just random input on piston choice...

99% is an exaggeration, and they're wrong.

I've run Wisecos in every bike I've owned for over 30 years without a single issue. My KX 250 has a Wiseco Racer's Choice in it right now, and it will last longer than the OEM pistons.

When people have problems with Wisecos, it's their fault 100% of the time. They either didn't install it correctly (improper clearance or break-in) or are too stupid to warm their engine up properly.

• Like 3

99% is an exaggeration, and they're wrong.

I've run Wisecos in every bike I've owned for over 30 years without a single issue. My KX 250 has a Wiseco Racer's Choice in it right now, and it will last longer than the OEM pistons.