Sign in to follow this  

Polaris Polaris Predator 500 camshaft issue

Hey folks. I'm new to thumper and thought i would ask this question here to solidify the fact that I'm not crazy. Well not totally anyways.

I recently purchased an 04 predator 500 that needed a lot of work. I basicalky got a frame with some plastics and a giant bucket of parts. I about have it all put together and so far actually have all of the parts and am in the process of getting it timed. The problem i am having is that when i set the cams where they are supposed to go, intake on intake side and exhaust on exhaust side of course, the cam lobes are facing each other when i align the dots at 9 and 12. The intake cam looks like the lobes are at about 10 o'clock which is right in my mind but the intake side has the lobes facing in about the 7 o'clock position which seems odd to me.

Setting the timing on these things are simple but not this one. Am I crazy to think that the cam gear has spun on the camshaft and is not in the correct position?

I attached a picture of the lobe position. The motor is at TDC and the cam gear timing marks are aligned at the 9 and 12 o'clock position.

Let me know what you think. I do have never heard of this happening before. I have a set of hot cams coming but just wanted to get some second opinions.

Thanks

The timing marks according to the manual should sit in the 9 and 12 position on the camshaft gear with the exhaust cam slightly advanced and the 9 o'clock position on the intake cam sitting parallel to the head. That is where I have them positioned in this picture and that is where the cam lobes end up. Seems like the exhaust cam lobe is about 90 degrees off.