Sign in to follow this  

CRF250L or WR250R?

Hey guys I am looking at buying a street legal dual sport for commuting to work and just putting around town.  I have been reading many reviews of the two bikes but I still think I need some advice on which to get.

I am 6 foot 2 and 175 pounds and I have a ton of experience with riding.  I have been riding for over 10 years and currently own a YZ125 strictly for playing in the dirt.  I like the look of the CRF more than the WR but the WR sits a little taller, has more power, and has fully adjustable suspension.  Am I too big for the CRF?  I could definitely invest in some power mods to give it a little more grunt btw.

I suppose the reason I am debating between the two is because used WR250R's are more expensive than a brand new CRF250L.  Does anyone have experience with either one, or both?  Any expertise or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Derek

I have a 2013 crf250l with a stage 1 kit on it. I love this bike it have WAY WAY more power then stock. And it's cheaper even with the mods. The only thing I don't like it the suspension, it's fine for around town and some trails, but any aggressive riding and it bottoms out. I am 5'9 and 165. It is a bit short for a guy any taller. But I love this bike

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1398024201.633998.jpg

I have a 2013 crf250l with a stage 1 kit on it. I love this bike it have WAY WAY more power then stock. And it's cheaper even with the mods. The only thing I don't like it the suspension, it's fine for around town and some trails, but any aggressive riding and it bottoms out. I am 5'9 and 165. It is a bit short for a guy any taller. But I love this bike

ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1398024201.633998.jpg

Hey I am glad you like the bike. Can you help give me some advice though? You think my height would make me uncomfortable on it?

Also, is 8000 miles a lot for a dual sport?