Sign in to follow this  

Questions about AF ratios

Hi there guys. I am somewhat new to motorcycles but learning fast. I really enjoy all the discussions of carbs and mods and exhaust systems and jetting etc.

I have very much enjoyed reading about and looking at all sorts of dyno graphs depicting exhaust systems and mods that I am interested in.

I have been hearin and learning more about AF ratios and would like to know all that I can about it.

So here are a few questions:

What is a good AF ratio number(I read a post recently with someone talking about how his AF was 12.1 and he tuned to 12.7)?

Does the right AF ratio # depend on displacement, exhaust and mods of the engine?

Does a higher # mean a richer ratio? And a lower # number leaner?

On my drz400sm I intend on doing 3x3, JD jet kit, fcrmx 39 carb(is that a flat slide carb? Or are there slightly different versions of the fcr 39) and debating wheather or not i go with the mrd/ssw or yosh rs2 exhaust system. I will be riding street almost exclusively and will need to jet for sea level. Sorry for the long winded post :/

Edited by SupermotoAl

A good af ratio would be 12.7 to 13/1 you can make more power at 14/1 but that is on the lean side.

Different mods change the af ratio.a pipe needs a richer mixture with a 3x3 mod.big bores like to be leaner. Stroker likes rich. Cams can be both. The only way to get it close to what you want is with a dyno with a afr readout

• Like 1