Sign in to follow this  

Does losing weight effect your riding?

Does losing weight effect your riding? I am working to drop 30 lbs and was just wondering what you guys and gals have noticed relative to riding or is it noticeable?

Bikes.jpg

The laws of physics says less weight = easier to change direction.

I dropped two pounds from the top of my xr50 and noticed a big difference in the ability to flick it around.

• Like 1

Does losing weight effect your riding? I am working to drop 30 lbs and was just wondering what you guys and gals have noticed relative to riding or is it noticeable?

I reckon the only negative is that it could throw out your suspension settings.

youll find its alot easyer to move around on the bike and change body position, you wont get as tired as fast either

• Like 2

I was losing a little weight when I started riding (260). I lost 30 in three months after I started. The bike worked me out way harder than I would work myself in a gym. Now I have more endurance, I don't get arm pump as quickly, and my knees and elbows feel better than they have in years. I wonder if I could write the bike off as physical therapy
  • Like 2

I was losing a little weight when I started riding (260). I lost 30 in three months after I started. The bike worked me out way harder than I would work myself in a gym. Now I have more endurance, I don't get arm pump as quickly, and my knees and elbows feel better than they have in years. I wonder if I could write the bike off as physical therapy

I never thought of that one. Instead of telling my wife I’m going riding ill just say that I’m going to work out! What wife would prevent her husband from “working out”J

I might even have to place an order for more work out equipment!

• Like 2

I never thought of that one. Instead of telling my wife I’m going riding ill just say that I’m going to work out! What wife would prevent her husband from “working out”J