Sign in to follow this  

need help with rear maxxis desert IT tire

Hey guys, I have the above mentioned tire on my bike but I need to pull it off so I can lace up some new spokes. The problem is that I cannot get the damned thing off the rim. Putting the thing on last summer was a pain but this is worse. I can get part of the bead off the rim, but once that happens, I cannot manage to squeeze my tire spoons under the bead to keep going. Besides using dish soap, are there any tricks that will help me get this thing off?

Hey guys, I have the above mentioned tire on my bike but I need to pull it off so I can lace up some new spokes. The problem is that I cannot get the damned thing off the rim. Putting the thing on last summer was a pain but this is worse. I can get part of the bead off the rim, but once that happens, I cannot manage to squeeze my tire spoons under the bead to keep going. Besides using dish soap, are there any tricks that will help me get this thing off?

I'm no expert, but here are few tips that's helped me in the past. Get the tube out of the tire, then the locks so all you have left to deal with is the tire and rim.  Now here something really important.  When you're ready to take the bead off the tire, make sure the opposing bead (other side) is in the middle of the rim.  That's what happens to a lot of people when taking a tire off.  They start working one side while the other is still beaded against the rim.  Have the other side bead in the middle of the rim, gives the tire the pliability to get off from the other side.  Hope that helps. Oh and yep  soapy water helps, hell, grease, oil, anything slippery helps, but then have to clean that stuff off both the rim and tire before mounting it again, and oil products are really never ideal to use on tires and rim.  But if it has to come out, believe me, oil products WILL help.  Just make sure your opposing bead is centered to the middle of the rim before trying to get the other side of the bead off