Sign in to follow this  

2012 CRF450R EFI / ECU / Remap / High Compression piston / Flame-outs

Wasn't sure what to put in the subject line, so I put it all. lol.

I picked up a new-to-me 2012 CRF450R. Has Yoshimura RS-4 slip on with stock header. Previous owner had the ecu remapped by Tokyo Mods. Then, he added a 13.5:1 HC piston, but didn't get any remap work done.

Then I bought it. I've had it out for 2 practices so far and have experienced probably 6 flame-outs if not more, in a little over an hour total ride time.

I'm a vet class racer, and have ridden and raced countless hours over many, many years. I know bikes and how they are supposed to behave. I just moved up from a 2005 CRF450R and NEVER had blatant, unforced flameouts. (well maybe a couple over the years)

Here is the one that really pissed me off. I went to a local mx track that I hadn't been on before, I was doing my site laps to see what lurked on the other side of the uphill jumps, doubles etc. I came up to one just a little hot (for not knowing what was on the other side)  so I put the binders on as I rolled up the face, then I caught a glimpse of the other side and saw that I needed to blip the throttle to launch enough to get the bike some more forward momentum. Just as I let off the binders and blipped the throttle -- nothing! poof! I Kissed the front fender, one hand off the bars, tweaked my wrist, slammed my stomach onto the bar pad. I pretty much did everything except hit the ground. Did that again on another very similar kicker. Then cornering flameouts. Argh!

Notes, I had fresh 93 octane gas in, fresh spark plug, clean air filter. Idle set at about 1800-1900.

So my questions are, could the ecu need a remap after the PO added the HC piston?

If so, looks like Tokyo wants close to $90/100 for a remap? I know some will mention Eddie, that's fine too, but would I be better off buying say a Yosh EMS PIM2?  Paying a for a couple/three remaps would pay for a new PIM!