Sign in to follow this  

What bike should i buy for trail riding as a beginner?

So I am looking to buy a used dirtbike for tight trail riding and some sand pit riding. I don't know whether to buy a 150 or 250 4 stroke. My friends tell me the 250 is too much power for me considering I am a beginner. And my brother in law tells me to get a 250 because I will get bored of a 150 as soon as I learn. Any suggestions would be great. I have ridden a 125 4 stroke a couple times so I know how to shift and I know the basics of dirt bikes.

Im 19, weigh 150 lbs and im 5' 11"

Edited by Leahy

Also, if anyone is selling a good bike in new jersey, let me know.

Bored with a 150 is BS. I know 'A' riders that fly on those things. In fact, for off road, I'd consider the KTM150 a higher level bike than a 250F.

Although, I do agree that a 250F would be easier to learn on. Smoother power, slower revving.

A used CRF230F would be the absolute easiest to learn on.

What do your friends ride? If your plan is casual trail riding, a CRF230F would probably be all you'd ever need. If they are serious riders, and you're reasonably athletic/coordinated, at 19, you'll learn pretty fast to adapt to a 250F or a 150.

Admittedly, I wouldn't buy a used 250F from someone I did not know their history. People are bad about dumping them when they know they're about to need a lot of re-work (or maybe it's just some of the people I know.) A 150 2T is much less risk of major expense.

• Like 2

Bored with a 150 is BS. I know 'A' riders that fly on those things. In fact, for off road, I'd consider the KTM150 a higher level bike than a 250F.

I get the feeling the 150 in question would be a 4 stroke.  In which case, the OP would most likely get bored of once basic skills are learned.  

Although, I do agree that a 250F would be easier to learn on. Smoother power, slower revving.