Sign in to follow this  

Just bought a YZ490 1989

Hello,my name is Maks,i have a 1989 YZ490.

I have a questiong about carb settings and the hoses on the carb.

I am new to the 2 stroke world and any suggestions would be great,thanks.

Does eveything look good on the picture when it comes to hoses on the carb

298vo5.jpg

IMG_0550.JPG

IMG_0551.JPG

IMG_0552.JPG

Edited by Gogolsev

Everything looks alright from what I see.  Those hoses are vent and over flow hoses from the carb/float area.  They are just fine where they area.

this forum is a great palce to get your questions answered.  Might have to post pictures for us old fogies, but we all can get you going.  

Everything looks alright from what I see.  Those hoses are vent and over flow hoses from the carb/float area.  They are just fine where they area.

this forum is a great palce to get your questions answered.  Might have to post pictures for us old fogies, but we all can get you going.  

thank you for your reply,this forum has proven it self in the last 2 days ;)

The main picture i posted (1st one) the hose that is connected from the buttom to the top is wrong right?it suppose to be 2 went hose coming out right?

When i try to start the bike the fuel POURS out of the lower "hose" or "the buttom of the carb"

And one more question,is lean to the RIGHT or to the LEFT on the needel?How many turns is the OEM specs?

Yz490 are cool as he'll I got a 82 I'm restoring. Good luck with yours !!

Yz490 are cool as he'll I got a 82 I'm restoring. Good luck with yours !!

6baa6f8eca9611e399880002c9d07a7c_8.jpg

Thanks

Your floats are stuck, or need adjusting. It's a simple fix.

Took the carb apart today,you were right.It was "moldy" looking,lots of green corosion and yellow gue(what ever it is)

Also the reed valves on one side were chipped.

Floats are stuck or most likely needs a needle and seat assembly to stop the gas from overflowing.