Sign in to follow this  

NorthCarolina Gnarly Single Track Guys - Who Tuned Your Suspension?

Hey guys, I just bought my 3rd YZ-250, a clean, stock, low-hour 2007 YZ-250. My other 2 bikes are a 2001 (what I've been riding for the past 3-4 years) and a 2002 (apart right now due to a grenaded cast-AL piston a while back).

I've never had "primo" suspension on a dirt bike. Before I bought my 01 and my 02, the original owners supposedly sent the suspensions to Race Tech and had them tuned (re-sprung, re-valved), and I just left them how they were. It was OK, since most of the riding I did when I lived in the Memphis area was on flat stuff that wasn't very rough. When I would make an occasional trip to Westpoint in middle Tenn. or over to the Ozarks in Arkansas where there were rocks, it was adequate, but not great. Now that I've moved to the Nashville area, and met a new group of riders, I'm riding gnarly, rocky stuff on every ride. We rode Brown Mountain, NC. not this past weekend but the weekend before. Did 50 miles Friday and 25 Saturday, and it was epic - some of the best riding I've ever done. We hit a ton of single track up there, and all three of us had a bad case of baboon ass! I was on my 01 YZ, and it beat me to death.

Anyway, one of the main reasons I bought this 07 is because I know it has a great suspension out of the box. But I want it to be "primo." The bike is, as I said, all-stock, and has very low hours, so it's worth spending the $ on.