Sign in to follow this  

WestVirginia Burning Rock, WV. GP Race...what is it?

I thought a GP was on a moto track, but it's listed under the off road/woods racing schedule.  Anyone done this one?  I have a season pass and would like to race it, but have not yet ridden a real moto track, or real jumps for that matter.  

Thanks

Gp is a mixture between a moto and scramble.

Track and woods.

Real track real jumps fast paced tight spots in woods hill climbs parts of tracks etc. They are my favorite

I live 1 hour from burning rock and only ride wildwood for gp or Hatfield for trails

How is burning rock?

How much is pass?

I'm fairly new to dirt bikes, but I like burning rock.  Last year we only rode a few of the single track trails, since we were still pretty new at it.  If you're an hour away, I'd say there is no reason not to go.  I believe a 1 day pass was $25, $45 for Sat/Sun, but we ended up just getting a season pass after the first visit.  I think it was $85 and lasts 365 days, not just til the end of the calendar year.  It seems like a good deal.  Camping(tent) is nice, fresh grass to setup on, not a gravel parking lot, and the 3 times we were there only about 3 of the 30+ sites were taken.  One thing that does kind of suck is the bathroom is part of the camp/track store , so it's a far walk and if there is an event going on you may be trying to get a shower in with lots of other people waiting, etc.

Anyways, since I've never been on a track yet, I might just wait for the hare scrambles this year, they have 4 or 5 of them.