1986 honda xr250r rebuild!

There seems to be a lot of threads of people rebuilding their bikes and I figured ill add mine in here! Its not done although im getting closer. Ive posted dozens of questions and im getting to know the bik pretty well so ill share all my stories and pictures and thoughts!

So to start off with how I came across the "Mink" as i call my bike ;) I was going around working one day (I work for Comcast, im a contractor) and I saw this old arse bike sitting on a trailer in somebody's driveway! I had a gut feeling and just pulled over to ask the guy if he'd sell it... and he did! He said he had no clue what was wrong with it but he though the connecting rod broke :huh: so he said 75$ and its mine! So I took it and put it on my trailer :D

1398257024052.jpg

• Like 1

Thats what the bike looked like! And ive come a very long way since then but ill let ya guys know that soon.

I got the bike to my garage and tried the basic things.... new gas, topped off oil, checked for spark and "compression"... everything I though was ok but little did I know. After about another month took the cylinder head top off to reveal there was a nut from the valve adjusters that came loose! I simply put it back in place and thought all my troubles were over! The engine spun free so I put it back on the bike and gave her a valve adjustment anf thats when things gor fishy...

So then it gets good :) I take off the exhaust of the bike because the valve adjustment just isnt going as good as I'd hoped... and I look into the left exhaust pipe hole into the engine and ya know what I see? Well nothing! There's no valve there! Hahaha :blink:

The valve was stuck in the head so it looked like it was still intact from looking at the top. But the valve head came off the shaft of the valve... and poked a good hole right through the piston! And ate my cylinder head up!

1398258800111.jpg

1398258829572.jpg

1398258847788.jpg