Sign in to follow this  

What type of gear to get?

I'm just starting out and I need to get some gear for trail riding.  Helmet, boots, and goggles are obvious necessities, but what other gear should I get at a minimum?  I don't want to spend an awful lot and don't care for a bunch of crazy graphics.  Just plain solid colors.

Thanks, and any particular brands that are better?  For instance, I found a Bell SX-1 helmet for under $100, but I see helmets can go for as high as $500.

Edited by mossman77

Ill pay 500$ for a pair of good boots but not on a helmet... I honestly do not see the benefit of paying that much more for something that has the exact same safety rating as a helmet that cost 100 bucks.  For your gear check out Rocky mountain atv and see what they have on clearance!  Good deals, good luck.

Ok, I have a list of gear that I'm about to purchase.  One question I have is the boots I am getting have shin protection built in.  Therefore, I presumably need knee guards only (without shin protection).  Is this correct?  Seems obvious, but the reason I am asking is because most of the boots I've looked at have shin protection and most of the knee guards I've looked at also have shin protection.  Why would you want/need both?  Reminder, I'm a beginner and will be doing mostly if not all trail riding.  No racing or jumping (at least not yet).

Ok, I have a list of gear that I'm about to purchase.  One question I have is the boots I am getting have shin protection built in.  Therefore, I presumably need knee guards only (without shin protection).  Is this correct?  Seems obvious, but the reason I am asking is because most of the boots I've looked at have shin protection and most of the knee guards I've looked at also have shin protection.  Why would you want/need both?  Reminder, I'm a beginner and will be doing mostly if not all trail riding.  No racing or jumping (at least not yet).