Sign in to follow this  

Noob with a seized 1973 Yamaha Enduro DT3 250

Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt at doing anything with a bike, but I'm a quick learner, and I'm a technical person, so I should be able to figure this out.

I inherited a 1973 Yamaha Enduro DT3 250.  The previous owner had used it as recently as 2005, but as far as I can tell, the engine is seized up.

So this is what I've done:

I shift the gears so that it is in neutral, squeeze the clutch, and push the kickstarter down.  

The kickstarter starts vertical, and moves easily to horizontal, but just stops there.  I've put some pretty good pressure on it, and it ain't moving.

So I found this site:  http://www.dansmc.com/stuck_engine.htm

The bike will move in neutral.

The bike will not move in any gear.

The next step in troubleshooting is to pull the engine side cover off and try to turn the crankshaft bolt.  He says the crankshaft bolt is usually on the side with the alternator rotor.

Well, on the left side (while sitting on the bike) there is something that I'm guessing could be an alternator...it has copper wire wound around something anyway...

When I turn the bolt clockwise on that side, it won't budge no matter how hard I push, even if I squeeze the clutch.

When I turn counter-clockwise, I just remove the nut...

On the right side, there are a bunch of gears and what I think is the clutch (it moves when I squeeze the left handle lever)

The bolt directly under the engine on this side doesn't move in either direction, even if I squeeze the clutch.

It seams to me that the piston is seized.  So I removed the top of the engine, and sprayed a ton of WD-40 all around the edges of the piston/cylinder.

The kickstarter still won't move lower than horizontal.

Am I going in the right direction?  What is my next move if penetrating oil won't free this thing up?  There is no way I'm going to be able to build the grease fitting thing that the guy builds in the link I mentioned.