Sign in to follow this  

Looking at used XR400 - How to check swingarm bolt?

Hello all,

Long-time TT lurker, first-time poster here.

I'm in the market for a used XR400 as a semi-first bike after a 20 year hiatus from riding.  Spent a lot of time on a Suzuki 125 in my youth.

1. Is it possible to check for a frozen swingarm bolt easily during a used bike inspection?  I'm not a mechanic by any stretch, but could I check this potential issue with some basic hand tools?  2 ratchets and sockets?

2. What do I need to check exactly?  Am I okay if the bolt will turn?  Do I need to loosen the nut a little and move the bolt laterally in the hole? 

3. What kind of prices are these bikes fetching these days (ballpark)?  Looking at 2 stock bikes, a 1999 and a 2000 in the Southeast.

Thanks for any advice offered.

This is a good question. Although I can think of others to ask. Overall appearance can tell of neglect. Air filter and oil tells of engine abuse. Bent bars and case rash show crashing. Oil leak is a bad sign.As far as prices, what part of the US are you in? West coast prices range from $1500. To $3500. or thereabouts. Year, condition, and plated or not can make a huge difference. Hope this helps!

Thanks for some other things to look for.  I'm in the Southeast, TN and Georgia specifically.  Neither of these bikes are plated.

If you loosen off the nut and the bolt will turn, that's good sign #1, but it really needs to be able to be moved laterally. With the nut off and tapping the end of the bolt, if it starts to slide out, good sign #2, means the sleeves aren't corroded to the bolt and most likely it will come all the way out.

Ask the owner the last time he's had it out.

• Like 1

Thanks Trailryder, neither of the current owners have ever removed the swingarm bolts.  I asked during during initial conversations and they were honest about it.

What kind of ballpark price should I expect?  1999 and 2000, both look very stock.