Sign in to follow this  

New Rider, what size bike should I get?

Greetings!

I am 16 years old and I want to start riding dirt bikes because a lot of my other friends ride and I want to tag along. I have no experience at all riding dirt bikes so don't necessarily think I would be comfortable riding a large bike to start out.

I am 6'0" 165lbs. Some of my buddies said I should start out on a 125 bike but I'd like your guys' input as well. Also, if a 125 would be good I've been told that TTR125's are good bikes to start out on.

Thanks guys! Hope to hear from you soon!

Greetings!

I am 16 years old and I want to start riding dirt bikes because a lot of my other friends ride and I want to tag along. I have no experience at all riding dirt bikes so don't necessarily think I would be comfortable riding a large bike to start out.

I am 6'0" 165lbs. Some of my buddies said I should start out on a 125 bike but I'd like your guys' input as well. Also, if a 125 would be good I've been told that TTR125's are good bikes to start out on.

Thanks guys! Hope to hear from you soon!

Maybe a 125 2 stroke, but not a TTR. You are too tall, even for the big wheel model. Maybe a 230. They are not as big as a 250MX bike, and are much more controllable for a beginner

Something to think about: usually when someone in the dirtbike world says 125 they mean 125 MX bike. It's a full size but lightweight 2 stroke motocross bike. Very fast and not good for learning or riding on trails. It's a great bike for a kid your age who has grown up riding and is working their way up in power and performance but not for learning from step one.