Sign in to follow this  

Broken carb slide

Will a broke slide cause a high idle ? The bottom corners on the inside ( facing the reeds ) are broken off , would never know it looking from the back side . Carbs a mikuni with TPS off a 05 Cr 250 It idles very high with the idle screw completely backed out and TPS unplugged , The carbs mounted on an 03 bike without TPS:banghead:

Will a broke slide cause a high idle ? The bottom corners on the inside ( facing the reeds ) are broken off , would never know it looking from the back side . Carbs a mikuni with TPS off a 05 Cr 250 It idles very high with the idle screw completely backed out and TPS unplugged , The carbs mounted on an 03 bike without TPS . :banghead:

I'm no expert but have spent many hours fiddling with carbs (mainly the mikuni TMX). The way I see it if the corners are chipped off its probably I allowing excess air to flow through due to increased volume which is essentially the same as adjusting the idle scrww in and raising the slide to let more air through at idle.

Don't take that as science, just trying to use my ows experience and logic to help brainstorm. You might be due for a new slide.

Edit: could also be something completely different, like a vacuum leak somewhere. But if it started happening after the slide broke I'd say it's your culprit.

Edited by dan2581
  • Like 1

When I read the title I thought to my self,how could a slide get broken? Hit with a hammer, run over after it fell off of the bike, earthquake? Then I thought probably an air leak.

I've been wrong so many times today though, that I'm not going to even offer a suggestion. :banghead:

• Like 1