Sign in to follow this  

1st Dual Sport event tomorrow. What should I expect?

I consider myself a beginner when riding in the dirt and am going to register for my first organized event tomorrow. What should I expect as a noob for how these events are generally run? Also I do not have a roll chart holder or gps. Is it normally a problem to just follow someone who does have one so we can get lost together?

Never been on one. Sounds fun though! I've been riding street for about 20 years now, but I'm new to this dirt and dual sport stuff too. I'm sure you'll have a blast. Take pictures!

I find that more people seem to be geographically challenged than not, so if it were me, I'd at least be packing a map and studying the route thoroughly the night before. Let us know how your day turned out. 

Had a blast yesterday on the ride. Met some nice people and tagged along with two other guys since I didn't have GPS or a roll chart. The start was a bit hectic as the roads on the route to leave out of SLO were closed due to the SLO marathon that was also going on that day but we eventually found our way out and on course. I didn't take many pictures but here is one at our lunch/fuel stop mid day and one of the teeter totter towards the end of the ride.

10174859_10203101747458686_7215792024607

10171102_10203101747898697_1154194996045

10300776_10203101747698692_7150216915733

I find that more people seem to be geographically challenged than not, so if it were me, I'd at least be packing a map and studying the route thoroughly the night before. Let us know how your day turned out. 

It was on my local trails so other that the sections that were on private land, I knew most of the route already. :thumbsup:

SLO Penguins dual sport is one of the best. I have run it a few times with friends and had a blast. We usually get to SLO on Friday morning and head over to Pismo Beach and rent some quads just for fun and tear it up in the sand for a couple of hours.