Sign in to follow this  

first dual sport

Hey guys i figured since i got so much help on her whilbe buying my last bike i would get on here and ask for some advice again. im looking at buying my first street legal motorcycle and i want it to be a dual sport. i currently ride a KTM 200exc and i will probably continue to use it for trails and what not because it is a beautiful 2 stroke beast  :ride: i thought about plating that bile but i dont think it would do very well on the road.. so what should i get? i have a buddy that would sell me his yz250f for 1,000 that i could easily make street legal here in missouri, or should i go with something else? again with this bike i will probably have street tires on it 75% of the time because i just think that looks super cool lol. 

i'll use it to commute to work everyday for most of the year about 10 miles

not a lot of highway action, maybe only sustained speeds of 60 for a mile or so 

i am still a beginner but feel like i am progressing well, but please none of the giant 500 bikes 

thanks to all who reply  :thumbsup:

xr 250, 400, 600, 650. Drz 200,400. the yamaha wt and wx's, wr. KDX 200,220. CRF 250x,450x, RMX 250. All great options. I would bike to plate a kdx, they are so cheap and are bullet proof! A yz250f would need upgraded magneto, headlight, tailight etc. I dont know your price range, so if its like $2,500, a new xr650 or drz 400 would be great options. On the cheaper side, a KDX is about a grand, xr 250 is about $1500. hope I helped. When you go to buy your bike just make sure it has a VIN #