Sign in to follow this  

1986 rm250 problems

I just traded a cr80 for an 86 rm250 and there's a few things I have questions about. One problem is that the kick start lever doesn't come back when you kick it, do I just need a new spring?

Also the couple times I got it started it didn't seem to have the power that it should. The guy I got it from said it probably wasn't getting gas and there was a good amount of gas coming out the overflow so I took the carb apart and there was a bunch of green corrosion looking stuff on everything. I cleaned it up pretty good but there's still some gas coming out the overflow. Does anyone know what could be causing this?

Photo144.jpg This is the spring that was under the power valve adjuster and I'm no expert but I don't think it's supposed to look like that. Could this be part of the reason it's lacking power? And I don't have a manual for the bike so can anybody tell me how the power valve should be adjusted once I get a new spring?

Any help would be appreciated

I fixed the kick start. The part of the spring that sticks out wasn't in the hole that it was supposed to be so I just put it back and it works fine now. 

• Like 1

The rear shock is really bouncy and I'm pretty sure the air canister is empty because when I pushed on the valve nothing came out. Could this cause the shock to be bouncy or does it just need to be rebuilt? Also what is the canister supposed to filled with, air or nitrogen? Any help would be appreciated.

Yes, if the canister is empty it would be like having a spring with no shock absorber = bouncy. The shock and reservior are filled with oil and nitrogen.

Yes, if the canister is empty it would be like having a spring with no shock absorber = bouncy. The shock and reservior are filled with oil and nitrogen.

Alright so I'll try just refilling the canister with nitrogen before I take the shock apart. Do you know how much nitrogen I need to put in it?