Sign in to follow this  

02 CR 250 trail bike

I'm looking for a good, fun, dependable, light, and zippy trail/woods bike to ride at local OHV parks. I started riding when I was 9yo and had a DR100, CR80, XR250, and a KDX200. The KDX was my favorite. I haven't ridden much in the last 10 years. I'm thinking CRF250x, CR250, or KTM XC. I found an 02 CR250 looks good W/ Rekluse ,JD jets, Rad Valves, IMS tank, rad braces, steahly 12oz, pro moto kick stand, bark busters, Warp 9 wheels, trials tire and, FMF turbine silencer. Has about 20 hrs on top end. The guy used it for hare scrambles. Asking $2200 I may buy it Wednesday if the weather clears up, so I can test ride it. Also I have an 07 RMZ450 I just got but its just not much fun for me because its heavy and too tall in first gear. On the other hand my daughter has an 07 DRZ125 and its a blast just not big or zippy enough. I don't care about the 2 vs 4 stroke argument or Honda vs KTM or any other brand unless it specifically pertains to my experience level and type of riding. I'm 33  6'6" and 200lbs. Thanks for any help.

Thought I'd post because you don't seem to be getting one.

That CR250 sounds like an amazing deal considering all the extras. You'll find it to be kind of top end oriented on power compared to a 4stroke even with the previous owner's mods. Great bike though, I'd buy it. 02 is the first year of the last generation (02-07) and they are just fantastic bikes.

I wouldn't typically buy a racer's bike but that's kind of a blanket statement. Kids beat their bikes up but an older and experienced racer typically keeps his bikes in top shape and loads them with every accessory needed. Sounds like that is the case here.

Good luck and let us know how it goes.

• Like 1