Sign in to follow this  

Pros & Cons of running a flywheel weight

I have no experiences with running extra weight on the flywheel just wondering the good and bad of doing so. Will it put strain on crank bearings ? ect .ect .  I just ride trails usually, on a 01 cr250 would it be beneficial or a waste ?

It will make all the difference in the world for the better , the only downside , if you can call it that is it takes away a bit of engine breaking , but 2 strokes dont have as much as a 4 stroke anyway , so you wont notice it that much , other than that , you will have less if any stalling depending on how well your bike is jetted and (depending on the size flywheel or weight you choose) , the larger the weight the less stalling and more lugging you can do

It will turn it into a entire different bike and you will wonder why you waited so long to do it  , i have a 13oz weight on my 02 450R (yes its a 4 stroke but its a MX bike now transformed into a reliable trail bike because of the flywheel weight) and it along with me re-valving the suspension , made it into a fun to ride reliable trail bike , that i can still take to the MX track and fly  , the weight helps for both track and trail

Hope that answered your questions ! :ride:

• Like 3

It will make all the difference in the world for the better , the only downside , if you can call it that is it takes away a bit of engine breaking , but 2 strokes dont have as much as a 4 stroke anyway , so you wont notice it that much , other than that , you will have less if any stalling depending on how well your bike is jetted and (depending on the size flywheel or weight you choose) , the larger the weight the less stalling and more lugging you can do