ONLY 36 HOURS LEFT! Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

DR650 offroad newbie - am i the limit of where i can go or is it the bike?

So i've been riding DR650 for 2+ years now ,mostly commuting and around town...    

Recently moved to a more rural area where there are lots of gravel paths and some more off-roadish trails as well

so i tried to ride around and i found i couldnt manage to climb up out of ravines or dry channels and such

so i'm wondering if its my inexperience is the reason im not doing well or is it that the bike is too heavy for that kind of thing

so the question is : should i consider moving to DRZ-400S or something like that or should i instead take some off-roading course or something of the kind?

Thanks for the input :)

Practice, practice & more! You are only limited by your experience. Also more aggressive tires & lower gearing will greatly improve the DR & your confidence. Check in at DR Riders forum for lots more info & advice. DR650 is a great mid-weight dualsport. Not a full on dirt bike or MX.

Have fun & wear ATGATT!

well my tires are as aggressive as is permitted by law   

what do you mean by lower gearing?  

Actually with my current setups i have no problem going across rough terrain and sand and whatnot , its the going up and down dry creeks and ravines that i have trouble with   

on the going down part, i can feel the brakes slipping  and on the going up part i just get stuck halfway when the ridge is just a bit too high , and i can see all the WR250 people going over it like it wasnt there 

Hi Saargrin,