Sign in to follow this  

DR650 offroad newbie - am i the limit of where i can go or is it the bike?

So i've been riding DR650 for 2+ years now ,mostly commuting and around town...    

Recently moved to a more rural area where there are lots of gravel paths and some more off-roadish trails as well

so i tried to ride around and i found i couldnt manage to climb up out of ravines or dry channels and such

so i'm wondering if its my inexperience is the reason im not doing well or is it that the bike is too heavy for that kind of thing

so the question is : should i consider moving to DRZ-400S or something like that or should i instead take some off-roading course or something of the kind?

Thanks for the input :)

what counter (front) sprocket are you running? how steep? stalling or not enough jam? 

I can only recommend that riding with a buddy will help - critiquing helps - as well there are some vid's both on line and to buy that might help

the information is a bit vague... I'm a newbie to the DR650 but not to dualsport / enduro's been riding for 35 years - drop me a line if you want

Edited by cdnabn49

Definitely gear down, smaller front sprocket/larger rear. The DR 650 will take you lots of places, but it needs a bit of set-up. If you are in loose gravel/rocks/sand, you may need a knobby on back. If you are not a tall person, lowering the suspension can be a big help. See if you can tag along with other dual sport riders, picking up on how others handle things that give you trouble. Most of all, have fun!

Definitely gear down, smaller front sprocket/larger rear. The DR 650 will take you lots of places, but it needs a bit of set-up. If you are in loose gravel/rocks/sand, you may need a knobby on back. If you are not a tall person, lowering the suspension can be a big help. See if you can tag along with other dual sport riders, picking up on how others handle things that give you trouble. Most of all, have fun!