Sign in to follow this  

Need experienced advice

Looking at buying another bike for this year and need some help deciding what is best to go with. I have been riding for 20 years now so I have the experience, but I'm looking into a different style than mx. I now ride mountain terrain that consist of single track tight trails and large open trails that you can hit fast. I also occasionally ride home tracks with the usual jumps whoops etc.

I'm looking at the dr650,drz400 (which version?), rmx450z and their equivalents. I like the idea of on/off road, but looking for something that'll be better off than on. Want something that'll be enjoyable riding the tight trails and not burn up clutches because it's pushing, but something that have the power and suspension to hit everything else I throw at it too. My rmz450 had the power I liked but couldn't get the gears to something I was happy with. What would work best in my situation? On/off road dual sport isn't the biggest factor, but it's there. Whatever I get I'd like to be able to do a quick wheel change and take on road and not be screaming at redline going 70. But off road is main concern. Any advice would be nice.

The rmx450z or equivalent seems the best in my opinion,what do you think? but... They are impossible to find in my area for some reason. The crf450x and klx450 are the same way. So I'm looking for next best I guess

I know I can do a quick sprocket change to suit on/off road needs but I'm looking for best out of the box at the moment

Thanks for any help

Ps I worded that wrong. I'm not looking to go 100 mph. I'm looking for the best middle man of Enduro, mx, and on road I guess

DR650, DRZ400 and RMZ450 are in 3 different worlds  :)

DR650 is more road oriented, it is heavy for singletracks, but it is good on roads and easy offroad combined in 1 trip.