Sign in to follow this  

How can I get faster? Hare Scrambles?

I have been riding for about 14 years I have been racing hare scrambles for 2.5 years I won 1st in open Novice last season which was my first full season of racing the entire series. I am now racing 30+ Amateur & have been racing an extra lap now & I am riding good. But I am not up there with the top 3 guys I have finished 4th in both races so far. How do I get faster? What can I do? Do I just need to push the edge? My endurance is not the issue. I  feel like i am riding good just not fast enough to be up with the top guys? I have been about 5 minutes behind 3rd in both races? 

If you're fitness is good you need to work on your speed, you would be surprised at how much time you can save in corners, brake late, carry good corner speed, if you can make 1 second every corner it adds up, actively practice your corners and it will pay off

Also charge from the start all the way to the finish, dont ease up at all, push hard, if you are not beat at the end of the race you are not pushing hard enough

Bike setup has to be good, small things can make a big difference especially suspension,

I know you say your endurance is good but you should work as hard as you can on strength and fitness and focuss on your core, it will make you faster,

The mental aspect of riding is huge, you win in your head first, then it happens for real, think positive and dont focus on negative or small things, focus on racing hard and most of all enjoying it, and the results will follow

Good luck

• Like 4