Sign in to follow this  

Need advice for dualsport

Ok, this is gonna be a long one, sorry. 

My name is Ryan, I live in Illinois, close to St. Louis and I am looking for my first bike\dualsport to use as my daily driver and commuter/adventure bike. 

Here's my questions of concern, first off, my budget is $3000(for bike and legalities)

I'm 5ft 5in so I'm a short dude, touching the ground will be a problem for me.

And probably the most asked and annoying question of all, as far as ride height goes, the 250's are perfect for me, but I feel like 250cc won't be good for long highway commutes(45-50 miles to and from 4 times a week) going anywhere from 60mph-70mph, but the 650's are damn near up to the middle of my rib cage when I stand next to them. Is there a 450 or 400cc dualsport offered by any company? Any help would be much appreciated, I am still learning the in's and out's of dirtbikes so bear with me as I learn.

Ok, this is gonna be a long one, sorry. 

My name is Ryan, I live in Illinois, close to St. Louis and I am looking for my first bike\dualsport to use as my daily driver and commuter/adventure bike. 

Here's my questions of concern, first off, my budget is $3000(for bike and legalities)

I'm 5ft 5in so I'm a short dude, touching the ground will be a problem for me.

And probably the most asked and annoying question of all, as far as ride height goes, the 250's are perfect for me, but I feel like 250cc won't be good for long highway commutes(45-50 miles to and from 4 times a week) going anywhere from 60mph-70mph, but the 650's are damn near up to the middle of my rib cage when I stand next to them. Is there a 450 or 400cc dualsport offered by any company? Any help would be much appreciated, I am still learning the in's and out's of dirtbikes so bear with me as I learn.