Sign in to follow this  

Yz 250 Piston Blew Apart

Hey guys, first off i'd just like to say that i've been reading the forums and enjoying the site for a long time so thanks.

I ride a 2002 YZ 250 and a few days ago my bike locked up as I was climbing a hill. Got the bike back to the house and tore it down to find that my piston skirt had broken off and there were pieces all inside the crank and head. I had the cylinder inspected yesterday and amazingly its totally unharmed. I plan on splitting the doing a full top and bottom end rebuild, but I have to wait till the parts and my new tools come in. This is my first time splitting a case so i'm not the most well versed as what is going on inside there.

So today I decided to clean the head up as much as possible and pull the power valves all apart. Well when I get the PV cover off everything in there is really dirty and gunked up. And I see that the end of the rod connecting the valve is worn and rounded over. Just spent the last 3 hours pulling the pieces out and cleaning them as best as I can. And I get it back together and it kind of sticks open when its turned all the way out. It catches on the rounded off part of the valve. I'll post pics to help show what i'm talking about. I am thinking maybe the PV was sticking open and that's why its so dirty in there. Also, the valve feels like it is catching in the middle of the movement as well, so maybe it wasn't opening fully. 

I'm trying to figure out was it this power valve problem that caused my piston to blow apart? And where can I find a replacement that isn't going to cost me an arm and a leg. The parts for the rebuild and the tools are already setting me back a lot so this is really hard to deal with. 

Also if the PV didn't cause the piston to break, what are the other options as what caused it?

Anything you guys can tell me is appriciated. 

20140430_180526(0).jpg

20140430_180613.jpg

20140430_180806.jpg

20140430_180919.jpg