Sign in to follow this  

Would a YZ125 be an okay starter bike?

I've hardly ever rode at all and I have very limited knowledge of dirt bikes. I have the opportunity to snag one at a pretty fair price and I was wondering if it'd be good for me.

I'm 16 years old, 6'0, 165lbs. First off, would I fit the bike well? Is it too small or would it be fine? Having it be a 2 stroke, would it have too much zip for a complete newby? I plan or riding with friends on the local mx track as well as trail riding.

Thanks everyone! If this isn't the bike for me, what do you recommend?

Perfect starter bike.  It will be as fast as you need it to be.  As your skills increase and your weight increases you may want to step up to a larger bike YZ250 2 stroke or YZ450F 4 stroke.  That is for later though.  The 125 will help teach you good techniques with carrying your speed in the corners and how to work the clutch. 

I think everyone should start out on a 125 2 stroke and then move up from there.  Even when you have been riding a long time and you may have moved on to other bikes.  Going back and riding a 125 2 stroke will put a smile on your face.  There is not a more fun bike made.

• Like 1

Perfect starter bike. It will be as fast as you need it to be. As your skills increase and your weight increases you may want to step up to a larger bike YZ250 2 stroke or YZ450F 4 stroke. That is for later though. The 125 will help teach you good techniques with carrying your speed in the corners and how to work the clutch.

I think everyone should start out on a 125 2 stroke and then move up from there. Even when you have been riding a long time and you may have moved on to other bikes. Going back and riding a 125 2 stroke will put a smile on your face. There is not a more fun bike made.

Thank you! So it won't have any problem on trails? What do you think would be a fair price to pick one up for on craigslist? My budget is about <$1200.