Sign in to follow this  

KX85 bogging

Hello! A few days ago I purchased my first 2 stroke off road bike after having a 110cc pitbike for around 3 months.

The bike is a 2005 kx85, it's my first 2 stroke and my first real bike, I have no previous experience with anything like this. 

So after I got the bike I searched a bit on google and grabbed the manual from the Kawasaki website and went ahead and mixed my fuel at 40:1 (Manual said 32:1 but internet said 40:1 for how I was using the bike). Bike started first kick, great!

I tested the bike in my yard and noticed once it hit the powerband at around 60% throttle it would lose a bit of power and bog so I would release the throttle and continue riding, I was on the bike for around 90 minutes in total and it continued to happen, it was ridable but as soon as I hit around 70% of the throttle it would begin to lose power, I could use all the power for 2 seconds max before it would splutter and lose power/sound bad. After 90 minutes I stopped the bike to have a break and went to start it again and it wouldn't start. 

The plug was black but still had a spark so I went ahead and searched the internet and checked a load of different things before finally buying a new spark plug and my problem was fixed!

So now the bike starts but I can use probably 20% of the throttle before it simply loses power, I let the bike warm up and rode it for a minute or 2 then I decided to try and record it, it didn't come out too well but as you can see I can rev it quite a bit but once it hits about 50% it starts having trouble. Sorry the video doesn't show much:

(mix here is 25:1 as previous owner recommended I use this ratio)

As you can see it's extremely smokey.

Does anyone have any suggestions the reason my bike is bogging once I open the throttle up further than 20-30%?