Sign in to follow this  

Tusk Wheel set VS Excel wheels?

So I'm in the middle of a full rebuild on my 2006 CR125. I recently purchased brand new Excel wheels from someone who never had a chance to use them. My intentions where to Powder Coat my hubs red and spoke it with my OEM spokes. After looking into the price of Powder coating the hubs and relacing and truing the spokes and the purchase price of the of the wheels puts me at about the same price of the Tusk package on Rocky Mountain for 500. Now I know many will say they won't hold up but in all honesty I'm a very novice rider and not racing by any means. Mabey one day I will get really good and prob want a Very solid rim but for now I'm no where near pushing a rim to its max like most of you guys here. Mainly practice MX.

• Like 1

I've seen a few of the Tusk package's around my neck of the wood's and have never witnessed a problem,,,not to say it can't happen,, but you should be fine with their set-up. Good looking product too. Oh, never hurt's to keep the warranty paperwork if that applies.Good luck.

Edited by Alan48

I wouldn't be afraid to purchase a set, just check the spokes when you get them and make sure there's grease in the bearings

been smashing my new Tusk wheels for a couple weeks now... spokes are all still tight, I love em!

• Like 1

I feel like these excels I have are a waist. Mabey I will keep them around incase I do smash the tusk up and will want something stronger. I will decide later I guess!

If I did decide to keep the excels and get talon hubs. What spokes and nipples will I need and how much are the hubs and spokes and nipple. I can't find a price?

I have been less than impressed with what I've seen from Warp9 and Tusk in the wheels and other accessories they make. But then again I'm hard on wheels.

Not sure what your budget is, but check out Faster USA. They build wheels using Excel rims and Rad hubs at great prices. They are worth a look.