Sign in to follow this  

Traction aids: Spool, or Auto-locker

Auto locker or spool  

8 members have voted

1. 1. Do you prefer the idea of an auto locker in your diff, or would you prefer a minispool?

• Spool
    • Auto locker

Well, we'd all rather have an air locker or e-locker in our diffs, but not everyone can have one financially.

Would you rather have a full spool / mini-spool in your diff, or an auto locker such as a detroit or a lunchbox locker?

For me a spool just seems rough for a car used on road, they put differentials in them for a reason. So a auto locker allows limited differential effect whilst locking up when you need it to.

On the other hand, they can be atrocious/unpredictable to drive and "pop" from time to time. So some people prefer a spool because its predictable, but these chew out tires and are illegal.

Personally, I chose the auto locker. How about you? and why?

if it was my truck that i use as a daily driver I would run open diff until I can find the 300 extra bucks to go from detroit locker price to electric locker. I like the air locker but they are 900 bucks plus 300 for a compressor. The electric costs about the same as the air locker but you don't have to buy a compressor so you save a few bucks. 

is this a daily driver? if you can't wait then get a detroit style locker, they make a soft locker which is less notchy. If it's a trailer toy then just spool it and save a few dollars. 

• Like 1

In a daily driver , auto locker definitely . But having had a vehicle with one they do have there drawbacks. Auto lockers will lock and unlock , pop , bang , ratchet and change from oversteer to understeer and all of this is even worse with a manual transmission. And they are scary on ice . In the same vehicle I had a lincon locker (welded diff) up front and that made for hard steering but lockers will get you farther offroad than any other mod you can do

Edited by mec500
  • Like 1