Sign in to follow this  

Newbie Purchased first Used Bike

Hello All. 

We after two weeks of lots of help from TT and private chats, I finally purchased a used http://houston.craigslist.org/mcy/4441036413.html today.

Thanks to all to the help. 

I am still learning to ride, I never road before and had my first lesson this past Tuesday to cover the basics of throttle control, turning, some break and riding positions. 

Just a few questions:

1. Any advice for  newbie as far as things to buy? Should I buy bike stand?

2. I need help with switching gears. I have driven stick car before and during training I only stayed in 2nd gear. For this bike is it 1st gear down, then rest of gears upwards.

3. As far as gear, what do I need besides helmet? Buy used or new helment? A used helment may stink.

Thanks

• Like 4

Sweet bike! Congratulations :thumbsup:

I'm sure you will get plenty of replies, but helmet and boots are a must. Spend most of your budget on them. Get everything else on closeout. Don't buy a used helmet. Stinky is one thing, but if it has been crashed and you don't know it, the protection is compromised.

Bike stands are nice, but also easy to build if you are on a tight budget.

That is an awesome first bike. Well done

• Like 2

That's a nice bike, I hoped you'd buy it.

I'd rate a bike stand as low on the list of necessities. You'll eventually need one though if you are to do some basic maintenance.

Things to buy for the bike: Tie down straps. Basic hand tools if you don't have them already. Filter oil. Tire pump and low pressure guage. Chain wax/lubricant. 

Here is a tutorial on shifting gears. I sat through it as long as I could. Be advised that these are crude methods for beginners.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWxhXKjVJxU&feature=player_detailpage

Gear: buy new if at all possible. As you said, used gear stinks. I'm not a prude but soaking up some other guys old sweat is way over the line.