Sign in to follow this  

KTM 250sx

Hi all

I am a impulsive person I recently bought a ktm 250 SX 2006 when i saw it in the bike shop! It is spotless and never been raced. There is not a scratch on it. I contacted the pervious owner and he said he almost never rode it because the power scared the living shit out of him!

Now my issue: I am new to dirt biking and went riding with guys that do enduros! Im still not even close to there riding experience and i were all over the place! Now i want to know must i sell it and buy a exc or a xcw or keep the sx and convert it for bush riding? Really don't know what to do! Is the conversion worth it or is it just beter to sell it! I really like the bike but don't know if it is any good for bush rides seeing that there is not any mx tracks near me and all that i can do here is bush rides!?! Hand guards, flywheel, bigger tank is so expensive in South Africa! Please any advise will help! ImageUploadedByThumper Talk1399071661.516084.jpg

• Like 1

For now I think you should just keep riding it. Maybe add a part at a time, but if you are that new just give it some time. Start with a flywheel weight and see what that does for it.

That is a VERY nice bike, congrats....

Keep it.  Add a part here and there and you will be fine.  You will also get used to the power.  As for parts needed:

1. hand guards if you have single track with trees

2. skid plate only if you need rock protection

3. I have found that a G2 throttle cam better tames my SX than a flywheel weight (I have both).

4. as your skills build, you will benefit from a revalve, but I would not bother with that now.

5. If you can pick up a deal on a used 18" rear wheel, that bike works very well with a trials tire, and you will save a ton of money too, as trials tires last way longer than knobby tires.  At least one manufacturer (Vee rubber)  now makes a 19" trials tire.  I have seen them, but never rode one.  Every 18" trials tire I have tried has worked very well.